Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to start reading from the nth line till the last line of a file. Post 302592257 by machomaddy on Monday 23rd of January 2012 10:54:28 AM
Old 01-23-2012
Thanks!

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Reading a file line by line and processing for each line

Hi, I am a beginner in shell scripting. I have written the following script, which is supposed to process the while loop for each line in the sid_home.txt file. But I'm getting the 'end of file' unexpected for the last line. The file sid_home.txt gets generated as expected, but the script... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: sagarparadkar
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

[Solved] Problem in reading a file line by line till it reaches a white line

So, I want to read line-by-line a text file with unknown number of files.... So: a=1 b=1 while ; do b=`sed -n '$ap' test` a=`expr $a + 1` $here do something with b etc done the problem is that sed does not seem to recognise the $a, even when trying sed -n ' $a p' So, I cannot read... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: hakermania
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Reading a file after nth line

I know how to read a file line by line. But don't to how to skip to a line matching a criteria and then continue reading it till the end. This is a log file. The input is a timestamp. 1. Find the timestamp in the log file 2. Read the remaining lines one at a time till EOF. How can I do... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: avinthm
9 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Reading text file, comparing a value in a line, and placing only part of the line in a variable?