Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting writing a simple script to get total number of cpus/cores in server Post 302591457 by steven12 on Thursday 19th of January 2012 01:53:17 PM
Old 01-19-2012
writing a simple script to get total number of cpus/cores in server

Hi,

I am very new to scripting and I wanted to write a unix shell script which can give me,

1)number of cpu's in a box

2)number of cores per cpu

3)total number of cores in abox (ie multiplying 1&2)

I am also trying to figure out how to check if hyper-threading is enabled in the server and also this check to script.

intially I am looking this to run on linux then wanted to implement it on other flavours of unix.

below is my script..
Code:
#!/bin/sh
if [ ! -r /proc/cpuinfo ]; then
  echo "Is this Linux? Cannot find or read /proc/cpuinfo"
  exit 1
fi
echo num_cpus = `grep 'physical id' /proc/cpuinfo | sort -u | wc -l`
read num_cpu
echo num_cores_per_cpu=`grep 'core id' /proc/cpuinfo | sort -u | wc -l`
read num_cores_per_cpu
echo total_cores=`expr $num_cpus \\* num_cores_per_cpu` --this part is not working..

if [ $num_cores -eq 0 ]; then
# this box is either an old SMP or single-CPU box, so count the # of processors

echo num_cores=`grep '^processor' /proc/cpuinfo | sort -u | wc -l`

fi
#echo $num_cores_per_cpu

any help is much appreciated.

thanks,
Steve.

Moderator's Comments:
Mod Comment How to use code tags when posting data and code samples.

Last edited by Franklin52; 01-19-2012 at 03:24 PM.. Reason: Please use code tags for data and code samples, thank you

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Need help writing simple script

I'm trying to write a simple unix script that will delete files after 30 days of being created. I've never done this before but conceptually it sounds easy. Here is what I'm trying to do: Get System Date Get File Date If (sysdate-filedate>30days) rm file All of these files are contained... (1 Reply)