Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Find filenames with three digits and add zeros to make five digits Post 302591184 by agama on Wednesday 18th of January 2012 07:59:23 PM
Old 01-18-2012
Probably lots of ways to do this. You can pipe the output of a find command through this small awk which will generate the mv commands.

Code:
find . -type f | awk '{ o = $0; split( $NF, a, "." ); $(NF)=sprintf( "%05d.%s", a[1], a[2] ); printf( "mv \"%s\" \"%s\"\n", o, $0 ); }'

You can then pipe the output through your favorite shell to actually execute the moves (verify that they look good, and no undesired file is being affected. It's generic so it will handle any suffix (.jpg, .png, etc.). It does assume that in the bag of words in the middle, the last word and the number are separated by a space.
This User Gave Thanks to agama For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to cut last 10 digits off

Hi I'm new to this. I need to cut off the last 10 digits from a line. I've used awk {'print $4'} filename.txt | cut -c 32-42 but this does not guarantee only the last 10 characters. Please help. Thanks. Sara (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: psarava
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Write a shell program to find the sum of alternate digits in a given 5-digit number

Hi Can any one please post the answer for the above program.................. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: banta
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Formatting digits

I want to check the argument in KSH. If the user type in the prompt 'find 3' it will format 3 to 003 to match the data in the text file. Same as with 10 to 010. Always begins with 0. eg. >find 3 Output: 003 >find 30 Output: 030 (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: harry0013
7 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

find the last digits of a string