Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Script to replace last instance of . between two consecutive = sign by , Post 302590621 by saurabhkoar on Tuesday 17th of January 2012 03:51:23 AM
Old 01-17-2012
Hi Skrynesaver/aigles,

can you tell me the logic please. I am a beginner in the shell script area and it seems to very complex Smilie . Any useful link would also be helpful.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. HP-UX

Replace $ sign within a file using Vi editor

Can someone help me with this command? I want to replace amount fields which are in the format $99.99 to 99.99 in a large data file which is within a HP box. I use Vi editor and tried this command :1,$s//$///g And this does not seem to work Also, I want to replace ^M with spaces in the... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: dtonse
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sign on/Sign off logging script

I'd like to make a script that I can execute every time I sign on to my linux box that keeps track of the time and allows to me to add a remark to a file. So basically once I log in, I run the script, and it outputs the date and time to a text file (log.txt). But that isn't my problem. I need... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Glider
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

replace first instance(not first instance in line)

Alright, I think I know what I am doing with sed(which probably means I don't). But I cant figure out how to replace just the first occurance of a string. I have tried sed, ed, and grep but can't seem to figure it out. If you have any suggestions I am open to anything! (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: IronHorse7
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

replace nth instance of string