Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Reading a string and passing passing arguments to a while loop Post 302590143 by zaxxon on Saturday 14th of January 2012 10:17:31 AM
Old 01-14-2012
If I got it right, you can break it down altering IFS:
Code:
OLDIFS=$IFS
IFS=":"

while read A B C; do
   do someting here with $A or $B or $C
done < infile

IFS=$OLDIFS

This User Gave Thanks to zaxxon For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

passing arguments

I'm trying to pass a filename, or all the files in the current directory to the ls command with a script. Unsuccessful so far, here are a few of my attempts: #!/bin/ksh read fname #if (( $# > 0 )); then $fname | ls -l #fi this produces a long listing of all the files in my current... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: jpprial
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

passing in arguments into a file using a loop

Hi, so Im a bit new to shell scripting and want to do the following but not sure how. Basically I have a file named "output" which contains misc text but inside the file I want to set up variables like $1 or some symbol. Anyways, in another file called "list" I have a list of items that I want to... (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: eltinator
11 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Passing Arguments-Help

Hi, I have a script which adds the user credentials to an ldap server. Im passing the variables as below.. /path/my_script $uname $pwd $environ ${deposit} If i enter some special characters like ';' in $pwd, script returns an error which is set to display if the user enters... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: Tuxidow
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

passing arguments