Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Find and replace multiple lines Post 302589041 by Franklin52 on Tuesday 10th of January 2012 02:37:12 PM
Old 01-10-2012
Try this:
Code:
awk 'f && /#/{f=0;next}/# falkdjf lkjadf lkjadf/{system("cat fileB");f=1}!f' fileA > fileNew

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How can I replace multiple lines from different files

Suppose i have two files file1.txt Name : Raju Address:rt8pouououoiu City:tyretyeuetu file2.txt Address :28a The line "address:28a" in file2 has to get replaced in the address line of file1 .. The output should be Name :Raju Address:28a city :tyretyeuetu Please help me... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ranga27
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

replace multiple lines in file

Hello I am a beginner in shell script. I was trying to find a way to replace multiple lines of a file with different set of multiple line. sed -n '/begin/,/end/p' < sample1.txt >test.txt UNEDITED=`cat test.txt` vi test.txt EDITED=`cat test.txt`... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: nox
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

replace multiple lines in multiple files

i have to search a string and replace with multiple lines. example Input echo 'sample text' echo 'college days' output echo 'sample text' echo 'information on students' echo 'emp number' echo 'holidays' i have to search a word college and replace the multiple lines i have... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: unihp1
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed find and replace multiple lines

I am new to linux and would like to modify the contents of a file preferably using a one line. The situation is as follows <start> some lines "I am the string" "replace string" more lines here <end> In the above example,On encountering "I am the string", the "replace string "should be... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: supersimha
6 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting