Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Unix installation
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Unix installation Post 302588969 by chakriAX on Tuesday 10th of January 2012 10:37:25 AM
Old 01-10-2012
Unix installation

Dear friends,
I am new to unix. I want to execute unix commands. i installed putty software in Windows xp but it is not working.i got a problem at host name.Dont know what is happeneing.(cursor not moving)

Can i install the Unix OS and execute unix commands with out using Putty software.
Please help me.Smilie

Thanks in advance.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Help me with the installation of Unix Solaris 8

i got a burnt copy of solaris 8 which was download off of www.sun.com the person who borrowed me the 3 cds said he successfully has the solaris 8 thing installed on his pc. how come when I tried to install it on mines, I get a bunch of errors messages some of which includes words like "disk... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: TRUEST
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

installation of oracle8i on unix

hi sir i want know important steps and issues involved in installing Oracle 8i on most of the unix system (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: vandana
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Unix Installation age

Hi.. Is there any way to find out when the OS was installed for a system? How can we find that out? My system is : IBM AIX 4.3.3 RS6000 Thanks, ST2000 (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: ST2000
3 Replies

4. SCO

Problem during unix installation

i have a problem with installing unix after booting system by itself floppy , during checking the hardware devices computer hangs , and stops. it checks: %fpu %serial %floppy %console %pci %adapter %tape %cd-rom G hd_config in this place system got stop. remember i passed this step at... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: uranium
1 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Please help with UNIX installation