Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting The "read" command misinterprets file names containing spaces Post 302588142 by ahamed101 on Saturday 7th of January 2012 01:41:53 AM
Old 01-07-2012
Try this... Enter the file names separated by , (comma)

Code:
#!/bin/bash

read -p "Enter Files: " line

OLD_IFS=IFS
IFS=,

for i in $line
do
        echo $i
done

IFS=$OLD_IFS

Code:

ls -l
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root    7 2012-01-07 12:09 a b
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root    8 2012-01-07 12:11 c d

root@bt > ./run
Enter Files : a b,c d
a b
c d

HTH
--ahamed

Last edited by ahamed101; 01-07-2012 at 02:50 AM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

passing a list of dynamic names to a "PS" command in shell script?

Hi, I am new to shell script. This is my first post .I have written a small script which returns list of names starts with "ram" in /etc/passwd .Here is that:- #!/bin/ksh NAME_LIST="name_list.txt" cat /dev/null > $NAME_LIST evalcmd="cat /etc/passwd | grep "^ram?*" | cut -d: -f1" eval... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: sachin.tendulka
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to remove "New line characters" and "spaces" at a time

Dear friends, following is the output of a script from which I want to remove spaces and new-line characters. Example:- Line1 abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz Line2 mnopqrstuvwxyzabcdefghijkl Line3 opqrstuvwxyzabcdefdefg Here in above example, at every starting line there is a “tab” &... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: anushree.a
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

script to read a line with spaces bet " " and write to a file

Hi, I need a command in UNIX KSH below is the description... MAPPING DESCRIPTION ="Test Mapping for the calid inputs" ISVALID ="YES" NAME ="m_test_xml" OBJECTVERSION ="1" VERSIONNUMBER ="1" unix ksh command to read the DESCRIPTION and write to a file Test Mapping for the calid inputs... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: perlamohan
3 Replies