Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Need to capture error of sybase sql in unix Post 302587054 by aksar on Wednesday 4th of January 2012 03:57:28 AM
Old 01-04-2012
Network Need to capture error of sybase sql in unix

Hi Gurus,

I am very new in Unix,
I have 1 script, in which I am truncating the table , then BCP the data in Sybase table, and then loading the data from sybase table to sybase table.

every thing is working fine, but the problem is with Error.

I made some hanges in my insert statement so that it failed , but I am not getting any error msg. I dont know how to put error msg.

pls help me out, Its an urgent issue.
Code:
retu_statu=`$SYBASE/OCS-15_0/bin/isql -S$DSQUERY -U$AAAUSER -P$AAAUSERPWD <<-END_SQL | grep "ERRORLEVEL" | cut -d ";" -f 2 
use $AAAREPDB
truncate table $AAAREPDB..CTF_EXTRACT_PTF
go
END_SQL`

bcp $AAAREPDB..CTF_EXTRACT_PTF in /oams/w_ctcb/ctcb2ta/data_extract/${BatchScript}.$$.out -U$AAAUSERPWD -P$AAAUSERPWD -S$DSQUERY -f portfolio.fmt -Y -F

err_code=$?
    if [[ $err_code != 0 ]]; then
        echo "ERROR: Data Loading failed!!!\n\n\n"
        exit 255
    fi

retu_statu=`$SYBASE/OCS-15_0/bin/isql -S$DSQUERY -U$USER -P$USERPWD <<-END_SQL | grep "ERRORLEVEL" | cut -d ";" -f 2 
use $AAAREPDB

insert into $REPDB..uob_dwh_portfolio
select *,getdate) from $REPDB..CTF_EXTRACT_PTF

select 'ERRORLEVEL',';',@@error,';'
go

END_SQL`

I am not getting any error Problem in query is Getdate()
It should give me error

Moderator's Comments:
Mod Comment Please use code tags!

Last edited by zaxxon; 01-04-2012 at 04:59 AM.. Reason: code tags, see PM

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Need sybase sql command help