Sponsored Content
Operating Systems AIX sudo - User privilege specification Post 302587045 by zaxxon on Wednesday 4th of January 2012 03:26:29 AM
Old 01-04-2012
I guess that granularity will be not possible with sudo. sudo will be used for a positive list, what they may do, not what they may not do. You might want to have a look into RBAC (Role Based Access Control). You can create a role with just the permissions your users need and assign that to them. There are some IBM Redbooks and IBM System Magazine articles about security handling RBAC.

Last edited by zaxxon; 01-04-2012 at 05:23 AM.. Reason: typo

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Write privilege for user

Is it possible to grant write privileges to a user on a directory with out having to add the user to a group or make the user the owner of the directory? My background is in Windows and in Windows you can grant specific privileges to a user without having to put the user in a group or making the... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: here2learn
3 Replies

2. AIX

[Help] Give privilege to an ordinary user

I'm trying to give a non-root user the right to start IBM HTTP Server, the web server is listening on port 80, but for AIX, ports under 1024 are privilege ports which can be used only by root. /usr/IBMIHS/bin# ./apachectl start (13)Permission denied: make_sock: could not bind to address :::80... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ibmer414
1 Replies

3. Solaris

Root privilege for user

Can anyone please tell how to give root privilege to a normal user in solaris 10? (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: nicktrix
5 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to create/restrict a user with to have no privilege from other group