Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting calling a shell script in background and wait using "wait" in while loop Post 302584858 by Scrutinizer on Monday 26th of December 2011 07:02:35 AM
Old 12-26-2011
It is probably because the while loop is executed in a subshell (right side of the pipe). Try using:
Code:
while read -u4 line
done < abc.txt
wait
#further processing

This User Gave Thanks to Scrutinizer For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to include RETURN KEY with Background process "&" in Shell Script

Hello All, I am a newbie in Shell script programming, and maybe you can help me with my query. I need to write a shell script (mntServer.ksh) that will start a background process and also to be able to run another script. The mntServer.ksh script contains: #!/bin/ksh... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: racbern
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

wait command - cat it wait for not-chile process?

Did not use 'wait' yet. How I understand by now the wait works only for child processes, started background. Is there any other way to watch completion of any, not related process (at least, a process, owned by the same user?) I need to start a background process, witch will be waiting... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: alex_5161
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

wait in background

can a wait command be run in background? or the script which has the wait command, be run background? test.sh ------- nohup a.sh & nohup b.sh & wait nohup test.sh & How can i run either wait or test.sh in background? i want test.sh to wait till a.sh and b.sh complete, and must be... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: albertashish
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Don't wait for "read line"