Sponsored Content
Special Forums Cybersecurity root cannot write to Linux RAM Post 302583965 by Alux on Wednesday 21st of December 2011 10:08:15 PM
Old 12-21-2011
OK, I want my code above to work with Linux. I'm an out of work systems hacker and this seems like a fun way of passing the time.

Some questions;

1.Do Linux Device Drivers operate at Ring 0?

2. Would the ability to read and update Kernel memory require writing a device driver or changing the Memory Management of Linux?

My main concern is the 'freeing' of the Linux kernel. So that the safety comes off, and the ability to make live updates without server downtime are possible.

Plus, such a feature would be fun! *smiles*

Corona, you hinted at a /dev/kmem file. I'm new to Linux systems programming, but have a couple of books on writing device drivers for Linux.

My ideas at this point are double;

1. /dev/kmem returns a raw dump of memory without formatting

2. /dev/kmem returns a formatted hexidecimal / Intel ASM output of the RAM in columns sided with RAM Addresses

My paths are thus;

1. Access the Global descriptor table task state segment of the kernel to obtain RAM values for access at a later point in the device driver. (Is that possible?)

2. Access the Process Table in Linux for a list of processes and start/stop address blocks. (Unsafe?)

So many questions at this point in time, not sure where to go for guidance on Linux systems programming.

Oh, if anyone when reading this post suddenly has a website link they think would be useful, or a book to purchase to help, any resources actually, I'd be happy to read up on the subject to make this idea possible.

Basically, what I want is to do the following in C;

Code:
void main() {

fd = open("/dev/kmem", 'rw');

// fd opens to beginning of kernel space in RAM

poke_ram(fd, $var);

seek(fd);

read(fd, buf...);

process(fd);

close(fd);

}
}

Rather simple idea? But how to make this code work with Linux?