Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: help - scripting command
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting help - scripting command Post 302577700 by creature09 on Tuesday 29th of November 2011 05:19:05 PM
Old 11-29-2011
thanks

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

shell scripting my own diff command

Hi I would like to run the diff command and recieve a little different output. I am on a linux machine. I am pretty new to shell scripting. So far my idea has shaped up to this, unworking, script. I would like file1: and file2: instead of the usual > or < output you recieve, diff | sed -e ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: axcxe
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need help with Scripting diff command

Here is where I am at so far..... ------------------------- #!/bin/bash echo "Enter the output file name" read output_file echo "Enter the Orginal file Name" read write_file d= ' diff $write_file $output_file ' if $d = 1 ;then echo "files are not identical" else echo "they... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: tlfletcher05
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Scripting using the FIND command

I'm working on a 'find' command which uses the -exec option to tar a listing of files that it finds. Is there a single option available that would both 1) create the TAR file if it doesn't exist and/or 2) update the TAR file if it already exists? Currently when I want manually create a TAR... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: buechler66
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help required on scripting the rm -f command

When i execute rm -f $1 via a script file named rmf, it is not deleting all the files, say starting with "sec". i have execute rmf for many times to remove all the occurrences... $rmf sec* - this should delete all files starting with sec, but not. The rm -f sec* is working fine. kindly help... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: frozensmilz
3 Replies