Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Awk script to replace null columns with blank Post 302577057 by danmero on Monday 28th of November 2011 05:57:38 AM
Old 11-28-2011
Code:
awk 'BEGIN{FS=OFS="|"}{for(i=1;++i<NF;)$i=$i?$i:"        "}1' file

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Find and replace a column that has '' to NULL in a comma delimited using awk or sed

Hi this is my first time posting ever. I'm relatively new in using AWK/SED, I've been trying many a solution. I'm trying to replace the 59th column in a file where if I encounter '' then I would like to replace it with the word NULL. example 0 , '' , '' , 0 , 195.538462 change it to 0... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: gumal901
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk command to replace columns in 2 files

Hi All, I already have a code which replaces column 14 of NPBR.XTR.tmp with column 8 of NPBR3G.XTR.final awk -F'\|' 'FNR==NR{a= $2"^"$8;next;}a{split(a,b,"^");$8=b;$14=b;}1' OFS="|" ${SHTEMP}NPBR3G.XTR.final ${SHTEMP}NPBR.XTR.tmp > ${SHTEMP}NPBR.XTR.final I also need to replace column 15... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: nua7
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to find the null member or blank in the text file?

Hello All, I am new to unix scripting and wanted to know, is it possible if we find any null value or blank record in the text file. For example we have a text file with only one column and there are 90 records. But some times we will have a null value or blank row record in the text file. I... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Ram11111
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Script to find blank records in a file except for few columns