Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting command to grep the variable from file Post 302575880 by thanhdat on Wednesday 23rd of November 2011 06:17:00 AM
Old 11-23-2011
To grep the variable, you can do :
Code:
var=`awk -F'=' '/IAGLOBAL_USERID/{sub(/[ \t]+$/, ""); print $2}' $NCO/response_uid.txt`

Last edited by thanhdat; 11-23-2011 at 08:50 AM.. Reason: space

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Grep from a file variable

I am wanting to test the output from a script. If the out put = Object does not exist. I need to delete the output file. I am using , filecontents=`grep -i Object does not exist. $1.txt` then I test the variable with, if ; then delete file But I get an error, grep: can't open... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: jagannatha
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

assign subst|grep|sed command result to a variable

Hi, I'm quite new to scripting and I want to modify following line of an existing script: MYVAR=`subst |grep 'L:\\\:' | sed -e 's/.*\\\//'`; What I have to do is to use the content of a variable instead of the constant expression 'L:\\\:' as the grep string to be matched. Assuming I already... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: snowbiker99
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to store grep command in a Variable

I have a variable A echo $A 5060 I am exporting the value X,Y,Z and it id fetching right thing and When I run C=`${X} -l ${Y} ${Z} "trap '' INT;. ~/.profile >/dev/null 2>/dev/null; netstat -na | grep \$A`" here it is going to same directory and also running netstat -na | grep 5060 ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: madhusmita
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

read in variable data from another file - grep