Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Looking for help with parsing file contents in bash [newbie] Post 302573240 by mehungry on Sunday 13th of November 2011 07:29:20 PM
Old 11-13-2011
Looking for help with parsing file contents in bash [newbie]

Hi

I'm just messing around with bash and trying to learn it because I have a course next semester dealing with OS design where we need to know how to use SSH client and either bash or ksh. I've never done shell scripting before.

I just started today and I was wondering how parsing files works. I'm looking at this guide (unstable.blogspot.com/2010/04/simple-bash-script-to-parse-log-file.html *sorry for that but it says i can't post url cuz im new here)but I had a few questions.

unstable.blogspot.com/2010/04/simple-bash-script-to-parse-log-file.html

How do I set the directory so it finds that file? I keep getting "can't open log.txt"

I know its a nooby questiong sorry.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

File contents parsing

Suppose I have a file which has either the contents CALLED on <date & time> RUNNING on <date & time>or CALLED on <date & time> RUNNING on <date & time> SHUTTING_DOWN on <date & time> DOWN on <date & time> I don't care about the <date & time> part... I just need to know if the last line in... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: orno
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need help in parsing text file contents

Hi, I need some help in extracting the Exception block between the lines 21 Feb 01:18:54:146 ERROR com.orbits.frameworks.integrationframework.ValidationException - Caught exception in validateRequest() (PID=565584) and 21 Feb 01:18:55:149 INFO ... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: Alecs
0 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

parsing a file and manipulating the contents

Hi I have a text file as follows BOB 14/14 TOM 94/94 SAM 3/3 CRIS 13/13 TOM 6/6 CRIS 27/27 SAM 2/2 JACK 25/25 CRIS (6 Replies)