Sponsored Content
Homework and Emergencies Homework & Coursework Questions script to mail users on comand line Post 302572925 by agama on Friday 11th of November 2011 06:28:48 PM
Old 11-11-2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by alis
but would that do if there are multiple names on the command line like the assignment says like if there is
sali1206
fake329
unreal896
Yes you should use $1 inside of a loop. You can provide all names on the command line to mail, however since you are to personalise the message to each, you need to create a new message for each. So, looping through each parameter on the command line you pick up their name, find their full name in passwd, and send the mail message to them.

The end of document token that you supply on the << line needs to match what you use at the end. Right now you've got mismatched strings.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Testing a comand in the script

Hi everyone , i am new to shell scripting and am having some problem to test if this line has been executed well and display a pass message on the screen or fail if not sqlplus XXTEST/$2 <<END > $XXTEST_TOP/log/$0.log @$XXTEST_TOP/admin/sql/XXTEST_SPE1_XX_QUOTE_DETAILS_TBL.sql XXTEST$2... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Lutchumaya
2 Replies

2. AIX

Command line/Script to send E-mail with HTML body and binary attachment

I apoligize for the cross-post but I'm not getting much in the way of help in the dummies forum: I'm trying to script sending an e-mail message on an AIX 5.x server with the following requirements: 1. command line switch to specify file name containing message body in HTML format 2. command... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: G-Man
3 Replies

3. Ubuntu

script for memory monitoring and sending mail to users in network

I m working on a script which monitors the disk usage and send a mail to the users if it reaches a limit of 90%. hlp me (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: navdeep5673
2 Replies

4. Linux