Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users FTP failed to copy mulitple files from multiple directory Post 302571803 by Corona688 on Tuesday 8th of November 2011 09:32:10 AM
Old 11-08-2011
You don't have to reopen the same file 50 times to add 50 lines. You may not even need a file at all.

That 'bye' doesn't even end up in the file at all.

"*.*" is a DOS-ism, if you want all files in UNIX use *

Code:
ftp <<EOF
open $HOST
user $USER "${PASSWD}"
binary
prompt off
cd /home/mylogin/Test
mget *
cd "/home/mylogin/Test2/Important Doc/"
mget *
bye
EOF

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

failed to access directory thru ftp

Hi all, I am a beginner to unix and ftp too.So i request your valuable comments. Requirement: I want to put a specific file into a server(linux) and under a particular directory path in that server as /caps/details/data/ Problem : I login to that server through the command `ftp... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: DILEEP410
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Copy files from a directory by ftp

Hi all, I have to enable users to access a folder by ftp. Could you tell me which configurations files I must modify or create? Thanks (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: hippa77
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

ftp multiple files from same directory

Hi there Gurus, I have the following ftp script: $ more ftp_dump_arch4.sh #! /usr/bin/ksh # Constant variables HOST='xx.xx.xx.xx' USER='user' PASSWD='password' dir='/export/file' ftp_log='/tmp' ftp -n $HOST > $ftp_log/ftp.log << END user $USER $PASSWD verbose lcd $dir bin (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: lweegp
3 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Can I copy files on remote server with ftp ?

I just realize the only way is to download and upload again.. is not possible to copy them remotely with the ftp protocol ? thanks (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: aneuryzma
2 Replies