Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting how to grep the responce on TL1 Post 302568357 by zaxxon on Thursday 27th of October 2011 06:21:41 AM
Old 10-27-2011
You already said it yourself: Use grep. The man page reveals -q for quiet mode and if you could send anything else you do not need to > /dev/null 2>&1.
Next you can check what the content of $? is and decide what to do.
This is all you need - there are usually several ways. Just try it out and play around with it. If you get stuck at a specific point, ask again, but do not expect to get a complete solution without showing own effort.
Thanks for your understanding.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Script not waiting for user responce

hi all, Im fairly new to scripting and am having a noobish issue. Ive got a script that checks for certain directories and if they dont exist, prompts the user to do a mkdir. heres trouble spot in the script: cat dirlsttemp.dat | while read dir; do echo "$dir does not exist, would you... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: rdudejr
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Executing TL1 commands through script

HI , I have to write a script for some testing , which will telnet to a device and execute some TL1 commands.. Does any one knows how to execute TL1 commands through a script Thanks in advance Binu (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: msbinu
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with script, shutdown if no ping responce

Hi, i would like to create a script that shuts down the system if the power fails, basicly the solaris box would load the script at startup. Ping 192.168.1.100 every 20 secs If cannot get responce 3 times in a row send init 0 to the system. Simple but effective, as 192.168.100.1 wont be on... (39 Replies)
Discussion started by: ringofsteel
39 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

MEM=`ps v $PPID| grep -i db2 | grep -v grep| awk '{ if ( $7 ~ " " ) { print 0 } else