Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Inserting commas into file at set locations... Post 302565740 by Paragon1970 on Tuesday 18th of October 2011 03:16:45 PM
Old 10-18-2011
Glad to be of assistance Astrocloud and thanks for my first thanks :-)

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Inserting commas and replacing backslashes with commas

Hi, Newbie here. I have a file that consists of data that I want to convert to a csv file. For example: Jul 20 2008 1111 / visit home / BlackBerry8830/4.2.2 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLOC-1.1 VendorID/105 Jul 21 2008 22222 / add friend / BlackBerry8830/4.2.2 Profile/MIDP-2.0... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: kangaroo
3 Replies

2. Solaris

file locations...

Hi Guys, There was a post that I saw here a while ago regarding file system layout and what to put where, which I am unable to find now.. A user here posted a man page that list what each partition should have in it and what it is used for and were you should install custom packages. ie:... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Tornado
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sending a file to 24 Server locations parallely

Hi All, I have to send a processed file to 24 different server locations. I feel, if this job can be done parallel in the background - Time will come down. I found the script to FTP the file for a single server location through past Unix posts as below: #!/usr/bin/ksh ftp -v -n... (16 Replies)
Discussion started by: vsmeruga
16 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Insert Delimiter at fixed locations in a flat file

Hi Can somebody help me with solution for this PLEASE? I have a flat file and need to insert delimiters at fixed positions in all the lines so that I can easily convert into EXCEL with columns defined as per their width. For Example Here is the file { kkjhdhal sdfewss sdtereetyw... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: jd_mca
7 Replies