Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Search and replace only the first occurance Post 302564167 by suraj.sheikh on Thursday 13th of October 2011 03:59:10 AM
Old 10-13-2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayan_jay
its simple .. wats your try ..
tried this, but didn't work
Code:
sed 's/\(.*\)'$line'/\1/' $file_cases > $file_temp_cases_tmp

also tried
Code:
sed 's/string/replace/' filename

but it replaces all the string

Moderator's Comments:
Mod Comment Video tutorial on how to use code tags in The UNIX and Linux Forums.

Last edited by Franklin52; 10-13-2011 at 05:14 AM.. Reason: Please use code tags, thank you

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

String search - Command to find second occurance

Hi, I am new to Unix world. Is there any command which can directly return the second occurance of a particular string in a file? Basically, I want to read the contents of the file from the second occurance of a particualr string. Can be implemented using a loop, but am just wondering if there... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: saurabhsinha23
5 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

search for a word and it's occurance at the output

hey to everybody this is my first post at this forum I need a very immediate answer for this question. If you can, I will be delightfull I have a file called example.txt and I want to seek for the for hello and learn the number of the occurance of hello (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: legendofanatoli
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

replace the n'th occurance in a file

Hi All, How can i replace the n'th occurance in a file. ? I have a property file like EAR;_TrackingEAR;META-INF/application.xml;xml;context-root;1;valeur EAR;_TrackingEAR;META-INF/application.xml;xml;context-root;2;valeur2... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: subin_bala
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Replace first 5 occurance of a pattern