Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting reading a file extracting information writing to a file Post 302563895 by vbe on Wednesday 12th of October 2011 11:08:38 AM
Old 10-12-2011
At the first line:
Code:
 today=`date +%c%m%d | cut -c24-31`
 echo ${today}

what should it display?
When I try (OK AIX 4.2.1...) I get:
Code:
page:/etc $  today=`date +%c%m%d | cut -c24-31`
page:/etc $  echo ${today}

Is that what you want? (I would have expected 111012...)
If its 111012 then why not simply:
Code:
page:/etc $ TODAY=$(date "+%y%m%d")
page:/etc $ echo $TODAY

Ah Im using ksh...

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

Reading and Writing file on LAN

Hi gurus I am not a C programmer but I need to read and write files on a computer on LAN using IP address. Suppose on a computer that has an IP 192.168.0.2 Any help or code example. I did in JAVA using URL, but do not know how to do in ANSI-C. In java: ------- URL url = new... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: lucky001
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Reading a file and writing the file name to a param file.

Hi All, Not sure if this would be in a dummies sectiin or advanced. I'm looking for a script if someone has doen something like this. I have list of files - adc_earnedpoints.20070630.txt adc_earnedpoints.20070707.txt adc_earnedpoints.20070714.txt adc_earnedpoints.20070721.txt... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: thebeginer
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

reading ,writing,appending ,manipulating a file.

Hi my prob statement is to create a new file or to append to the 1tst file the followign chages. File 1: txt file. portfolio No a b c d abc 1 Any Any Any charString cds 2 values values values charString efd 3 can can can charString fdg 4 come come come charString... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: szchmaltz
4 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Log File Writing and Reading