Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Help with File processing - Adding predefined text to particular record based on condition Post 302563890 by karumudi7 on Wednesday 12th of October 2011 10:58:51 AM
Old 10-12-2011
Help with File processing - Adding predefined text to particular record based on condition

I am generating a output:
Code:
Name Count_1 Count_2
abc       12       12
def        15      14
ghi        16       16
jkl         18       18
mno      7          5

I am sending the output in html email, I want to add the code:
<font color="red"> NAME COLUMN record </font>
for the Name column records when the Count_1 & Count_2 are different. If they are equal no need to add the HTML tags. ( just to differentiate from others)

For eg:
In the above example, I have to add the tag to def and mno records.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

splitting a record and adding a record to a file

Hi, I am new to UNIX scripting and woiuld appreicate your help... Input file contains only one (but long) record: aaaaabbbbbcccccddddd..... Desired file: NEW RECORD #new record (hardcoded) added as first record - its length is irrelevant# aaaaa bbbbb ccccc ddddd ... ... ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rsolap
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Adding a column to a text based on file name

Dear all, Does anyone know how I could to add a column of numbers (1s, or 2s, or..., or 6s) to two-column text files (tab-delimited), where the specific number to be added varies as a function of the file naming? Currently, each of my text files has two columns, so the column with the... (12 Replies)
Discussion started by: rlapate
12 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Dynamic output file generation using a input text file with predefined output format