Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting adding text before and after a word Post 302563851 by jayan_jay on Wednesday 12th of October 2011 09:37:47 AM
Old 10-12-2011
Code:
$ awk '{print "before_"$0"_after"}' infile
$
$ perl -pe 's/(.*)/before_$1_after/' infile

This User Gave Thanks to jayan_jay For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Can a shell script pull the first word (or nth word) off each line of a text file?

Greetings. I am struggling with a shell script to make my life simpler, with a number of practical ways in which it could be used. I want to take a standard text file, and pull the 'n'th word from each line such as the first word from a text file. I'm struggling to see how each line can be... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: tricky
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

adding text to the end of lines containing a word

I'm new to shell scripting, and need to add a series of commands to the ends of certain lines of text that contain a keyword. Any easy way to do this? Thanks (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ironwall
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Adding a word in front of a word of each line.

Adding a word in front of a word of each line.In that line only one word will be there. pl help:( (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Ramesh Vellanki
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed for adding word

hello i have a file (myfile) contains line as follows /home/mytarget/myproject i want to add a pattern at the end of this line. my pattern is- /.*mk i want like it - /home/mytarget/myproject/*.mk i tried sed like sed 's/$//*.mk/' myfile > newfilename, but not wrking. pls... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: shailesh_arya
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Adding specific text and spaces to each line in a text file