Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting ksh compare dates INSIDE a file (ie date A is > date B) Post 302561859 by right_coaster on Wednesday 5th of October 2011 11:47:21 AM
Old 10-05-2011
Wow, maybe I need to turn on my brain... it's always the obvious that eludes me! Thank you.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

compare today's date with date in a file

Hi I am very new to scripting, Can someone show me how to (in unix shell script) compare the system's date with a date in a file. The requirement is to somehow open this file (which will only have a date in it) and compare it with today's date. If they are equal execute a procedure below but if... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: siog
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Compare dates in a field and print the latest date row

Hi, I need a shell script which should find the latest date in the field of file and print that line only. For eg., I have a file /date.log Name Date Status IBM 06/06/07 close DELL 07/27/07 open DELL 06/07/07 open : : : From... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: cvkishore
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

change date format and then compare dates

I have filenames filenameA_fg_MMDDYY.tar.gz filenameASPQ_fg_MMDDYY.tar.gz filenameAFTOPHYYINGH_fg_MMDDYY.tar.gz filenameAGHYSW_fg_MMDDYY.tar.gz My requiremnt needs to extract date which is in MMDDYYand change it into YYYYMMDD format. I have done the following: filedate=`echo... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: RubinPat
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Generate quarter dates with begin date and end date

Hi All, I am trying to generate quarter dates with user giving input as begin date and end date. Example: Input by user: begin_date = "2009-01-01" end_date = 2010-04-30" required output: 2009-01-01 2009-03-31 09Q01 2009-04-01 2009-06-30 09Q02 . . till 2010-01-01 2010-03-31 10Q01 ... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: sol_nov
9 Replies