Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers If Then ElseIf Script - Confusion Around Expression's Syntax Post 302554874 by dqrgk0 on Tuesday 13th of September 2011 09:14:01 AM
Old 09-13-2011
Data If Then ElseIf Script - Confusion Around Expression's Syntax

Hello,

I am relatively new to UNIX scripting and am learning a lot. I have already tried several searches on this website and have tried various syntax options suggested to no avail. I am obviously not writing the script correctly. I really do appreciate any and all the help.

Below is an outline of what I am looking to accomplish. The text in blue highlights the sections I am struggling with. Smilie

GOALS:
IF
The file, /test/me/test.csv is less than 295 bytes
THEN
Do commands here (already have this part written successfully)

ELIF
The file, /test/me/test.csv is >= 295 bytes AND if the FIRST row in that file contains the header string that begins with, ie. Tick_Num,Line_No,*
THEN

ELIF
The file /test/me/test.csv = 0 bytes
THEN
FI

Again, thank you very much.

D

Last edited by dqrgk0; 09-13-2011 at 11:07 AM.. Reason: code tags, see PM

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

One more expression syntax error

HI again, still working on the assignment, which is really hard given we just started unix 4 weeks ago. This script should change the permission for the user depending if its x, w or r, to the opposite. When i try to run it, I am getting expression error. Can you spot where the problem is? I really... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: morava
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Expression syntax

Hello, I am getting Expression syntax message and I cannot figure out what's wrong. This program will print all the odd numbers between 0 and the one the user enters, in cshell. I think my logic is either good or almost there, but i dont see the errors. I think it could be the spaces between... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: morava