Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Most vexing: Sed or Awk scripting for date conversion needed Post 302554360 by alister on Sunday 11th of September 2011 07:28:42 PM
Old 09-11-2011
Hello, Astrocloud:

I think the easiest solution is some AWK pixie dust. The following one-liner not only shuffles the date components, but it makes certain to zero-pad them (1 to 01, 8 to 08, etc):
Code:
awk -F'/| ' '{printf("%.4d-%.2d-%.2d %s\n", $3, $1, $2, $4)}'

Regards and welcome to the forum,
Alister

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help needed - Replacing all date & time occurrences in a file with a string using Sed

Hi, I am new to using Sed. I have a file containg lines like the following: INFORM----Test.pc:168:10/11/05 12:34:26 > some text goes here.. TRACE-----Test.pc:197:10/11/05 12:34:26 > some text goes here.. My requirement is to replace 10/11/05 12:34:26 with a string <RUNDATE> (including <... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Hema_M
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk script for date conversion

hi awk script for dd/mm/yyyy to yyyymmdd awk script for dd-mon-yyyy to yyyymmdd awk script for dd-mm-yyyy to yyyymmdd formate ..............urgent............. Thanks in advanced (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: charandevu
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed or awk scripting help needed

hi all, for an example : df -k output shows: $ df -k Filesystem 1K-blocks Used Available Use% Mounted on /dev/cciss/c0d0p6 3099260 1117760 1824068 8% / /dev/cciss/c0d0p1 256666 18065 225349 8% /boot none 8219180 0 8219180 0% /dev/shm /dev/mapper/vglocal-home 1032088 245172 734488 26%... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: raghur77
7 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed/shell scripting - add line if needed and not allready there