Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Split single file into n number of files Post 302552959 by quirkguy on Tuesday 6th of September 2011 08:02:30 AM
Old 09-06-2011
Split single file into n number of files

Hi,

I am new to unix. we have a requirement here to split a single file into multiples files based on the number of people available for processing. So i tried my hand at writing some code as below.
Code:
#!/bin/bash
var1=`wc -l $filename`
var2=$var1/$splitno
split -l $var2 $1

Please help me to get the code right manner...

Thanks

Last edited by Franklin52; 09-07-2011 at 03:38 AM.. Reason: Please use code tags for code and data samples, thank you

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

split single file into many

Hello, We have a text file with more than 1500 paragraphs. There is a blank line to separate paragraphs. We need to create one text file (with any name but unique) per paragraph. In other words, how can i extract each paragraph and create a separate file with those contents (so 1500 text... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: prvnrk
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

split a single sql file into multiple files

Hi,I have a single sql file containing many create table ddl's.Example: CREATE TABLE sec_afs ( rpt_per_typ_c char(1) NOT NULL, rpt_per_typ_t varchar(20) NULL, LOCK ALLPAGES go EXEC sp_primarykey 'sec_afs', rpt_per_typ_c go GRANT SELECT ON sec_afs TO developer_read_only... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: smarter_aries
5 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

split a file into a specified number of files

I have been googling on the 'split' unix command to see if it can split a large file into 'n' number of files. Can anyone spare an example or a code snippet? Thanks, - CB (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ChicagoBlues
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Split single file into multiple files based on the number in the column