Sponsored Content
The Lounge What is on Your Mind? Thinking of career change to software development Post 302552521 by yazu on Sunday 4th of September 2011 07:59:31 AM
Old 09-04-2011
No any 5-10 day courses make you a good software developer. 5-10 years of practice and learning maybe do. If you want to work in a software company you need a degree. If you want to work as a freelancer then not (but may help). For Web Development learn PHP and Javascript (and HTML5+CSS, and SQL+noSQL). To become a really good programmer learn C (C++ ?), Python, and some marginal languages - Lisp/Scheme or Erlang or Scala are good choices. Don't waste time for .NET and C#, but knowing of Java and Java infrastructure may help to have a piece of bread (though I don't know as long). Participating in open source projects is a great thing for getting real programming skills.

Everything is IMO, of course. (I have a degree but I didn't work long enough as a programmer. Now I'm trying to work as a freelancer, get a little but not quite satisfied - too little practice, and as you can see my English is not good enough too).

4 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Career Change

Hi, all! I'm a 37 year-old Electrical Engineer with a BSEE and 12 years of experience. I was laid off last week, and have been considering a career change (I've had enough of electrical design). I've used computers for the past 20 years as a hobby (building computers, playing games,... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: Snapster
5 Replies

2. What is on Your Mind?

Career Path/Change - Cert Help

This is a very serious post. I am a Cell Technician (Cellular Base Station Tech) who is completely bored because my job has basically evolved into a Field Secretary position. I love working on T1's and troubleshooting equipment outages and so on and so forth but my job has become VERY... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: CoopDeVille
2 Replies

3. Solaris