Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting password file as std input to script Post 302551787 by mpheine on Wednesday 31st of August 2011 03:57:56 PM
Old 08-31-2011
password file as std input to script

I'm a fairly new AIX admin (disclaimer).
We have SQL scripts written by end users that use a userid and passwd to connect to our DB2 database.
Is it possible to create an "input file" that contains the db2 connect parameters and yet secure the file from the SQL creator?

i.e., they can "use" the password file, but can't "read" it.

Or is there a better way to skin this cat? (no offfense cat lovers!)

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to redirect std out and std err to same file

Hi I want both standard output and standard error of my command cmd to go to the same file log.txt. please let me know the best commandline to do this. Thanks (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: 0ktalmagik
2 Replies

2. Programming

Sun Studio C++ - Getting error in linking std::ostream &std::ostream::operator<<(std:

Hello all Im using CC: Sun C++ 5.6 2004/07/15 and using the -library=stlport4 when linkning im getting The fallowing error : Undefined first referenced symbol in file std::ostream &std::ostream::operator<<(std::ios_base&(*)(std::ios_base&))... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: umen
0 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

PDKSH dual std input threads

Hi All, I'm trying to read from two files at the same time, but the second READ is failing, giving no value. Obvious STDIN is being used by the first "while read", so how can I retrieve a value from a second file within the loop ?? IFS=" ," cat $DATAFILE | while read curdate currentcksum... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: adrianmarsh
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need script to take input from file, match on it in file 2 and input data