Sponsored Content
Homework and Emergencies Homework & Coursework Questions need help with a shel script plzz Post 302547737 by flyman on Tuesday 16th of August 2011 12:43:24 PM
Old 08-16-2011
need help with a shel script plzz

hey how u doing guys ... I'm a student @ EMU and taking a beginner Linux class and I have those two extra credit project that im struggling with so I hope to get some correction and help

write a shell script that will
1-prompt the user for a file name
2-check to see if the file exists
3-create the file if the file does not exist
4-then go back and repeat step 1 if the file doesn't exist

#!/bin/bash
if test -e filename
echo "the file is exist."
else
echo "the file is not exist."
echo "filename" > "filename1"
fi

==============================

the other script
create a shell script that will
1- prompt for four file names
2- combine all of the data in the first three files into the fourth one

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

problem with GREP, help plzz

I just want the output of this command to be stored in a variable like, str = `grep Application.dbName serverdata/ServerProp.txt` but while executing it says like, str : startup 11: not found, where startup is the script name. but while running the command alone like, grep... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: cs_sakthi
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shel Script doesn't work from Exceed

Hi, I am using this script to load up my Oracle Databases, but when I log in through Exceed, it hangs. Can anyone tell me what else I need to add to make this work?? Details ****************************************************************************************************... (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: dnkansah
11 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shel program file handling