Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Finding the highest value(in negative) Post 302547535 by yazu on Tuesday 16th of August 2011 03:03:26 AM
Old 08-16-2011
Code:
awk '
!a[$1" "$2" "$3] || $4 > a[$1" "$2" "$3] { a[$1" "$2" "$3] = $4 } 
END { for (i in a) print i, a[i] }
' INPUTFILE

This User Gave Thanks to yazu For This Post:

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

finding duplicate files by size and finding pattern matching and its count

Hi, I have a challenging task,in which i have to find the duplicate files by its name and size,then i need to take anyone of the file.Then i need to open the file and find for more than one pattern and count of that pattern. Note:These are the samples of two files,but i can have more... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jerome Sukumar
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

sort with highest wc

Hi :) I'm a unix beginner and i've recently got an assignment to write up a script to print the most common IP address that made requests from a webserver. I'm really lost in this one...and if someone could pls tell me where to start i'll be really greatful ! thanx (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ymf
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Finding line with highest number in a file

Hi All, My file looks some thing like this, File 1: - A 10 B 30 C 5 D 25 E 72 F 23 now my requirement is to find the line with highest number in it, i;e the result should be E 72 Thanks in Advance (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: balu_puttaganti
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Finding the most positive and negative value and defining its position

Hi, I have a file that looks like this: Jake 2 3 4 6 4 3 -2 -1 Jerry 1 2 3 2 1 7 -6 -1 Timmy -1 -4 -5 -8 9 3 1 I want to find the most positive and negative value for each row and also define its position (based on column #) So the output would look... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: gisele_l
7 Replies