Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Flow Control in CSH
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Flow Control in CSH Post 302545878 by Manju87 on Wednesday 10th of August 2011 12:45:33 AM
Old 08-10-2011
Flow Control in CSH

hi ,
I am new to scripting, i have a doubt can any one pls solve it for me
the code is not working

Code:
set users = (user1 user2 user3)

echo The users are
echo $users[*]
echo Enter the USER NAME 
set USER_NAME = $<
set i = 1;
for ( i = 1; i <= $#users; i++ )
if ( $USER_NAME == $users[i] ) then
mkdir root/project/$USER_NAME
else echo INVALID USER!!!!
endif
done

this is not working... how do i check whether the users are valid or not... and ask again to enter the users if the input is invalid...

Last edited by pludi; 08-10-2011 at 04:54 AM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

how to assign correct control flow?

how can i create a script with a correct control flow/loop(?) to provide output from 3 files? file1 one two three file2 yellow red orange file3 banana apples cantaloupes output file: one (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: apalex
1 Replies

2. Programming

dilemma in control flow

hello im facing a queer problem when i execute the foll code in unix # include <stdio.h> # include <unistd.h> main(int argc,char *argv) { FILE *fp = fopen("/ras/chirag/fifotest/file.fifo","a"); int i=1; fprintf(fp,argv); printf("I SLEEP"); system("date"); for (i=0;i<50;i++)... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: tej.buch
2 Replies

3. IP Networking

Disabling 802.3x flow control

I have a server I would like to disable 802.3x flow control on. The host is Linux (CentOS 4.4 x86_64 w/ 2.6.9-42.0.3.EL kernel,) and I'm using the ns83820 driver for the ethernet interface in question. I've tried looking at the driver parameters (modinfo ns83820) and using ethtool (ethtool -a... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: LivinFree
0 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

csh failing to call an 2 embedded csh script