Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Banner causes scp to fail from script but not command line. Post 302544039 by RECrerar on Wednesday 3rd of August 2011 07:50:59 AM
Old 08-03-2011
Thanks for the reply.

Yeah sorry that is what I mean, I'm not very good at scripting yet so get my terminology a bit mixed up.

Could you possibly explain what you mean be: "fd 2 of the batch run is messed up. Interactively, it is the tty."

---------- Post updated 08-03-11 at 12:50 PM ---------- Previous update was 08-02-11 at 11:56 PM ----------

Hi again,

One of the lovely people from work who is actually good at their job has explained your answer and that does indeed seem the most likely explanation as the file that calls this script behaves slightly oddly and doesn't have any paths set up (I think because it is one of the first things run when the system starts up).

Thanks for the help, do you know if there is a way to specify for a who file where the stderr output should be directed to in case anyone in future forgets to redirect it? If not I will just update the comment at the top of the script to inform them of the need to do so.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Banner command

Hey all, I want to use the banner/echo command to write messages on different console windows. I knew that before, but I completely forget how to do it ! I just remenber that /dev/pts/# is the number of the window. and it's useful. It would be great if someone knows how to solve my... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: maxwell17
4 Replies

2. Linux

banner command

is there a similiar function to the solaris banner function in linux? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: BG_JrAdmin
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

banner command

can I use Banner command in Linux, if not, what is the similar command in linux then... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: vasikaran
7 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting