Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Passing in regular expression as a parameter to sed Post 302543883 by aigles on Tuesday 2nd of August 2011 10:40:45 AM
Old 08-02-2011
Works fine for me (on AIX box) :
Code:
$ cat sat.ksh
while IFS='|' read file search_string replace_string
do
    sed -e "s/${search_string}/${replace_string}/g"  ${file} > ${file}.tmp && \
    mv ${file}.tmp ${file}
done <sat.dat
$ cat sat.xml
<rmi-port>13093</rmi-port>
$ cat sat.dat
sat.xml|^<rmi-port>[0-9][0-9]|<rmi-port>18
$ ./sat.ksh
$ cat sat.xml
<rmi-port>18093</rmi-port>
$

Jean-Pierre.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Regular expression as parameter

Hello everybody, I have a problem with creating a script which allows a single parameter to be passed. Sorry if I'm not expert, I'm new at this and . The code is if ; then echo "Something" exit fi ...does other things... grep -i $1 $TEMPUSERS > $USERSFILE COUNT=`wc -l... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Gnappo
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Regular expression with SED

Hi! I'm trying to write a regexp but I have no luck... I have a string like this: param1=sometext&param2=hello&param3=bye Also, the string can be simply: param2=hello I want to return the value of param2: "hello". How can I do this? Thanks. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: GagleKas
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Passing Variable to Regular Expression

Hi All, Below is a sample code: print "Enter the Name: "; my $Name = <>; print "Word is $Name"; open (FH,"AIDNameList.txt"); while (<FH>) { my $line; print "Word is $Name"; for $line(<FH>)... (12 Replies)
Discussion started by: jisha
12 Replies

4. Programming

Perl: How to read from a file, do regular expression and then replace the found regular expression