Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Print Range Only Once Per File Post 302541730 by shamrock on Monday 25th of July 2011 12:58:59 PM
Old 07-25-2011
how about good old ex...
Code:
ex -s +'/^100/,/^Building/-3 p | q!' file

Last edited by shamrock; 07-25-2011 at 02:10 PM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Need to print file names in a certain date range using ls

I need to list only file names of a specific date from the command ls -lt. :confused: (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Shamwari
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

print range between two patterns if it contains a pattern within the range

I want to print between the range two patterns if a particular pattern is present in between the two patterns. I am new to Unix. Any help would be greatly appreciated. e.g. Pattern1 Bombay Calcutta Delhi Pattern2 Pattern1 Patna Madras Gwalior Delhi Pattern2 Pattern1... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: joyan321
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to print range of a line?

Hi , I have a file content like following. In few lines I have fields with '"' and in few not. "Country" character varying(150), "Region" character varying(60), "Total Page Requests" numeric, "Pages Served" numeric, "Ad request" numeric, Ads Served ... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: sussus2326
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Print pattern range to a new file

Hi Everyone! I really appreciate all of your help, I'm learning so much, can't wait until I get good enough to start answering questions! I have a problem ... from one large file, I'd like to create multiple new files for each pattern block beginning with /^ISA/ ending with /^IEA/ ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: verge
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to print first matching range in awk?