Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to retrieve a file from specific path using unix script? Post 302541234 by fresher on Saturday 23rd of July 2011 07:25:29 AM
Old 07-23-2011
How to retrieve a file from specific path using unix script?

Hi i'm new to shell script,
i want to get the filename from specific location which i mentioned in my script.
The scirpt should read the filename exactly using the following command "ls -ltr | tail -1".

Could someone show me on this. Below is my script
Code:
#!/bin/ksh
PATH=  /usr/
if [ -d $PATH ]
then
  echo "is a directory"
  filename = $ls -ltr | tail -1
fi

Last edited by Franklin52; 07-23-2011 at 10:01 AM.. Reason: Please use code tags for data and code samples, thank you

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Retrieve line from a file based on a value in specific column

Hi, I have a file that has several values seperated by ":" 2006:John:Student:Football:Portugal:Cinema 2006:James:Engineer:Basket:Poland:Theatre 2007:Lucy:Diver:Gymnastic:England:Music 2007:Smith:Plumber:Basket:Spain:Poker I need make a filter based on the 5th field to find countries that... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: efernandes
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

(cont) Retrieve line from a file based on a value in specific column

HI, Your help was great: awk -F":" '$5 ~ /^P/{print }' file I would like to know what changes need to be done to this line code, so that I can put it in a shell script and call it as the example below. example: countries that start with chacater 'P' > country P Result: ... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: efernandes
0 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

how do we retrieve a line from a file in unix

we need to capture a record from a file in to a variable and do modifications to it .. so capturing line by line in a file in to some variable (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: lmadhuri
2 Replies