Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Recursively move a subfolder to one upper level Post 302540163 by jiapei100 on Tuesday 19th of July 2011 08:57:59 PM
Old 07-19-2011
Recursively move a subfolder to one upper level

Hi, all:

My folder structure is like:

Quote:
root
----branch1
--------ae
------------kkk
----branch2
--------ae
------------kkk
----branch100
--------ae
------------kkk
What I'm expecting to realize is to have my folders look like:

Quote:
root
----branch1
------------kkk
----branch2
------------kkk
----branch100
------------kkk
How to realize it?

Cheers
Pei

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

newbie needing help with upper level directories

What is the purpose (function) of the following upper level directories: - /bin /dev /etc /home /mnt /media /sbin /tmp /var I have encountered these, but as i said, i am new to unix and i am not quite sure what they are and what their fucntions are. Any help would be greatly... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: carlvernon
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to move recursively into one folder

Hi, I have a folder with a million subdirectories which all have a million files in them (some of them duplicates).. I am looking for the right program command to move all of the files out of the directories and into one folder-- and replace all of the duplicates.. If anyone has any ideas,... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: patrick99e99
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Redirect with htaccess to upper level folder, how to?

Hello, Well I have a web with a very bad structure (a vBulletin forum) and I want it redirected to a newer folder in the same server but with a upper level folder. Current structure is: https://www.unix.com/vbulletin/upload/index.php And I want it to be:... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: Rafaweb
0 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting