Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Connect Oracle using shell script at run time Post 302536829 by kritibalu on Wednesday 6th of July 2011 10:27:46 AM
Old 07-06-2011
Connect Oracle using shell script at run time

Hi all,

I am a newbie.....am jus trying to connect to oracle thro a script, but not thro giving the username/password@server_name directly like
`$ORACLE_HOME/bin/sqlplus username/password@server_name
In the above line, once it is connected to Oracle, it shud ask me the username and password (during run time)......how can i do that.....

Thanks in advance Smilie Smilie Smilie
kriti Smilie

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

run shell script from oracle store procedure

hi, this is urgent..can i run a shell script from store procedure without using java. (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: arnabb4u
8 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

run oracle query remotly with shell script

hello how to run shell script to excute oracle queries on remote db ? i have tried as following sqlplus -s user/password@remote_server "select query;" but not working also this one sqlplus -s user/password@remote_server `select query;` not working :( i add this line to run another... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: mogabr
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

run shell script connecting to oracle from crontab

Hi, I have problems with running shell script connecting to Oracle from the crontab. Here is the script: #!/sbin/sh ORACLE_HOME=/opt/oracle/10g/ export ORACLE_HOME if then echo "Source path is not specified" exit fi /opt/oracle/10g/bin/sqlplus user/pass@testdb << EOF truncate table... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: apenkov
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Connect to oracle db using shell script