Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting finding the line number of a particular line in a file Post 302536825 by bartus11 on Wednesday 6th of July 2011 10:20:24 AM
Old 07-06-2011
Start with:
Code:
grep -n "look at the moon" file | cut -d":" -f1

This User Gave Thanks to bartus11 For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Finding the line number of matching braces

Hi,I am new to shell scripting and i want to find the line numbers of matching braces. The file contents are as follows File XXX.dat 1 ( CLASS "FRUIT" 2 (TYPE "PERSISTENT") 3 (MESSAGE_TYPE "M") 4 (GET_REQRD "Y") 5 (SET_REQRD "Y") 6 ) 7 ( CLASS... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Rajendra_1510
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

finding line number if the line contains

hi i have a file , that contains data like 34343538 3136414D 45583030 30302E54 445816AMEX0000.T 524E2020 20202020 20202020 20202020 RN 20202020 20203030 38303030 30303030 0080000000 30303030 30300D 000000. 20080724-051254.668419 D 473... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Satyak
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to get the data from line number 1 to line number 100 of a file

Hi Everybody, I am trying to write a script that will get some perticuler data from a file and redirect to a file. My Question is, I have a Very huge file,In that file I have my required data is started from 25th line and it will ends in 100th line. I know the line numbers, I need to get all... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: Anji
9 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

finding the line number from a grep ?

Hi there does anybody know how i can get the line number from an entry or entries in a file ?? for example if i had a file test1 test2 test3 test1 and i needed to get the line numbers for all instances of test1 in that file with the answer being (1,4) Would anybody be able... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: hcclnoodles
7 Replies