Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Split a single record to multiple records & add folder name to each line Post 302536473 by Morgan Greywolf on Tuesday 5th of July 2011 01:16:01 PM
Old 07-05-2011
If you know that each of the records is exactly 44 characters, then you can just use the fold command (assuming you're using a POSIX compliant shell):

Code:
fold -w44 /abc/$(date +%Y%m%d)/def/asdf.dat | sed "s/$/ $(date +%Y%m%d)/" >/abc/$(date +%Y%m%d)/def/asdf_split

but that assumes that each of the records is always 44 characters and they never contain any embedded newlines, etc.

---------- Post updated at 01:16 PM ---------- Previous update was at 01:14 PM ----------

BTW -- that looks almost exactly like HPGL.

Last edited by Morgan Greywolf; 07-05-2011 at 02:23 PM.. Reason: thinko misplaced quote

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sort & Split records in a file

Hi, I am new to scripting. I need a script to sort and the records in a file and then split them into different files. For example, the file is: H1...................... H2...................... D2.................... D2.................... H1........................... (15 Replies)
Discussion started by: Sunitha_edi82
15 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Parsing record into multiple records in Shell Script

Hi, I am trying to parse a very long record in a text file into multiple records by checking ADD, DELETE, or MODIFY field value in a shell script. Input # File name xyz.txt ADD|N000|8015662|DELETE|N001|9915662|MODIFY|N999|85678 Output ADD|N000|8015662| DELETE|N001|9915662|... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: naveed
8 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Single/Multiple Line with Special characters - Find & Replace in Unix Script