Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting .sh file To rename existing file and copy new file Post 302532162 by maheshkaranjkar on Monday 20th of June 2011 05:46:33 AM
Old 06-20-2011
Power .sh file To rename existing file and copy new file

Hi All,

I am very new to shell scripting .
In my current task i want to create .sh file that will rename the existing file with appending _bu in it. And then copy new file .
e.g if i have file linuxFirst.java then i want to rename it to linuxFirst_bu.java ..Then want replace with latest linuxFirst.java.

Please guide me in this Task .

Thanks In advance

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need Help for Adding Three new columns in existing file from fatching data from file

not required this time (36 Replies)
Discussion started by: Sandeep_Malik
36 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

copy/rename file as date() unix/shell

File.jpg I want to copy and rename this as 2008-12-02.jpg I tried this copy File.jpg date '%y-%m-%d-%H:%M:%S'.jpg This doesnt work.... what do i do? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: hdogg
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Bash copy file contents into an existing file at a specific location

Hi all I need to copy the entire contents of one file into an existing file at a specific location. I know the exact line number where I need to put it. It appears I would use either sed or awk to do this, but I have been unsuccessful so far: File A line 1 line 2 line 3 line 4 ... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: gshepherd7
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Copy 1 file 5000 times and Rename each +1

Hi, Found lots of stuff that is close but no cigar... I have a file ie. a.txt, and I want to copy it to another directory 5000 times and call it: a1.txt a2.txt ... a5000.txt Struggling to put a loop together in this new world of AIX. please include full script for me to understand... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: terry2009