Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Awk with or and not operator
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Awk with or and not operator Post 302530033 by yazu on Sunday 12th of June 2011 11:26:06 AM
Old 06-12-2011
Try
Code:
awk -F '/' '{ if ($2!="30" && $2!="31") print }' f.dat > date_mismatch.dat

or
Code:
awk -F '/' '{ if !($2="30" || $2="31") print }' f.dat > date_mismatch.dat

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk returning "[: ==: unary operator expected"

Hi All, I am new to shell scripting and right now I am just limited to using the pre-written scripts. I am in to Infrastructure management where we use different scripts to get the information passed on to the monitoring tools. I am trying to use this script to get the information about the... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: theamrit
2 Replies

2. Programming

new operator

Hi, Please clear the 2 questions, 2 Questions, 1) Why the new as a operator? Is there any special reason why it can't be a function like malloc? 2) How are we considering sizeof(),new are as a opearartors? I know + - * / -> , . etc.. are operators, which criteria satisfied by sizeof()... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Nagapandi
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

OR operator syntax question in AWK script

Hi guys, I confused about syntax used in OR script as follow: I have this sample file separated by "|" containing: January|Month No. 1 February|Month No. 2 March|Month No. 3 April|Month No. 4 May|Month No. 5 June|Month No. 6 July|Month No. 7 August|Month No. 8 September|Month No. 9... (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: cgkmal
11 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

+= operator