Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting AWK script for programatically modifying java files Post 302529463 by rocker86 on Thursday 9th of June 2011 11:20:38 AM
Old 06-09-2011
AWK script for programatically modifying java files

Hi,
I want to add a String variable to all java classes in my project. Assuming a class like
Code:
public class Random
{
String var="Constant string";
}

The text in bold is what I want to add to all java files in my workspace.
I am an absolute newbie to AWK, and read somewhere that its easily doable in AWK, and am currently hurrying through the online tutorials.. could anyone please help me with a script if its not really complex?

Thanks in advance!
Moderator's Comments:
Mod Comment
Please use code tags when posting data and code samples!

Last edited by vgersh99; 06-09-2011 at 12:35 PM.. Reason: code tags, please!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

modifying a awk line

Hi, I want to print specific columns (from 201 to 1001). The line that I am using is listed below. However I also want to print column 1. So column 1 and 201 to 1001. What modifcations do I need to make? Code: awk -F'\t' 'BEGIN {min = 201; max = 1001 }{for (i=min; i<=max; i++) printf... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: phil_heath
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Script for adding few methods to bunch of Java files

Hi I have around 1000+ java file under different folder in /home/raxit/source and in each file i want to add a fix method. -------- /* Some comment for few lines like header block etc.. */ package import class A { method1 () { } method2 () (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: raxitsheth
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with modifying files