Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting fixperms on folders in shell script Post 302528602 by DGPickett on Tuesday 7th of June 2011 12:57:11 PM
Old 06-07-2011
Your exec is a shell command that uses the shell's own process for the child, and the shell is then no longer running. Drop it.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to Archive Folders in T-Shell

Hi i am new to Unix Shell Programming... i m just a beginner and i m training myself in Unix.... I need a sample code to archive folders in my Windows OS using Unix commands... Can someone Help me? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: aegan
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell script to check if any file exists in 4 folders

Hi All, working on AIX 5.3. Requirement is: Shell script in ksh to check if any file exists in 4 folders as below: 1. /FILE/INB/INT1 2. /FILE/INB/INT2 3. /FILE/INB/INT3 4. /FILE/INB/INT4 Thanks a lot for your time! a1_win. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: a1_win
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

runnning a shell script in multiple folders

Hey everyone, I'm fairly new to both unix and shell scripts. Right now I have a script that I can run in one folder (if a certain text file is there, do one thing, if it's not, do something else). I want to modify this to run in multiple directories. My setup is: a company directory, and within it... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: melearlin
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell script to move files to 3 different folders

Hi guys: I've got this problem, I want to move a bunch of files to 3 different folders, without any specific order, and I'm trying to automatize it with a shell script. I'm a newbie at shell scripting so this is my first try: #!/bin/bash COUNTER=`ls -1 | wc -l` while do ARRAY=(... (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: wretchedmike
11 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting