Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Shell Scripts (Renaming file names with sequential numbers) Post 302527950 by thebeno on Monday 6th of June 2011 06:11:06 AM
Old 06-06-2011
Shell Scripts (Renaming file names with sequential numbers)

Hi there,

Firstly, I have no experience with shell scripts so would really appreciate some help.

I have the following shell script that is causing some problems:

Code:
moveit()
{
    [ ${DEBG} = "1" ] && set -x

if [ -f ${JOURNAL}.${ASOF_DATE} ]  
    then
        DOUBLE_DELIVERY=$(grep "${SW_ID}.*${P_DIR}.*${TARGET_NAME}.*${N_OF_REC}.*${SZ_KI}" ${JOURNAL}.${ASOF_DATE})
    fi
    if [ ! -z $DOUBLE_DELIVERY ]
    then
        LOC_TAG="ASIFUNC_01"
        ERROR_MSG="File $2 was sent already" 
        msg_error ${ERROR_MSG} && temp_err_handler FI_DBLE
    fi

LOC_TAG="ASIFUNC_02" 
    ERROR_MSG="Destination $2 already exists" 
    ls "$2" >/dev/null 2>&1 && msg_error ${ERROR_MSG} && temp_err_handler FI_EXST
    msg_message "\"$1\" has been moved to \"$2\""
    mv "$1" "$2"
    if [ "$?" -ne "0" ] 
    then
        LOC_TAG="ASIFUNC_03"
        ERROR_MSG="Can't move file $1 to $2"
        msg_error ${ERROR_MSG}
        temp_err_handler MV_FILE
    else
        chmod 660 $2
        chgrp ggearch $2
        STATUS_MSG="OK"

USEFUL_VALUE=`echo $ASOF_DATE | grep '^20..[0-1][0-9][0-3][0-9]'` 
        if [ ! -z $USEFUL_VALUE ]
        then
        if [ ! -f ${JOURNAL}.${ASOF_DATE} ] 
            then
                createFile ${JOURNAL}.${ASOF_DATE} 
            fi
            echo "${SW_ID} ${P_DIR} ${TARGET_NAME} ${N_OF_REC} ${SZ_KI} ${NOW} ${SCRIPT_INDX} ${P_ASIFTYP}">> ${JOURNAL}.${ASOF_DATE}
        else
            msg_message "Could not generate a Journal file for $2"
        fi
        logStatus
    fi
}
#