Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Help with matching pattern inside a file Post 302527586 by ctsgnb on Friday 3rd of June 2011 04:18:28 PM
Old 06-03-2011
On which Operating system are you ?
Code:
uname -a

?
Which shell are you running ?

Please post (copy paste as is , the command you paste on your screen)

Sometimes, Copy/Paste can mess the character, retype it manually on your screen and make sure you don't forget any parenthesis () nor curly brace {} nor space !!!

Last edited by ctsgnb; 06-03-2011 at 05:26 PM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to search a pattern inside a zipped file ie (.gz file) with out unzipping it

How to search a pattern inside a zipped file ie (.gz file) with out unzipping it? using grep command.. Bit urgent.. pls..help me (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: senraj01
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Pattern matching for file

Hi All, I'm new to perl, My requirement is to check if particular file exists. e.g. filename.txt, filename1.txt, filename2.txt etc I tried the below code:- my $var1 = "filename.txt" if ( -e ($var1 = ~ /file\w/)) { print "File found \n"; } else { print "File not found \n"; } ... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: doitnow
0 Replies

3. Programming

File Pattern Matching C++

Hi, I have large files with fixed length fields or fields seperated by delimeter. I would like to do validation on some or all fields to check for numeric or date or characters etc.. I would like to write this in C++. Please let me know if any one have any ideas on this. Thanks for all... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: rameshmelam
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Matching using Regex inside a file