Sponsored Content
Operating Systems AIX need advice on AIX virtualization Post 302527036 by johnf on Thursday 2nd of June 2011 06:09:12 AM
Old 06-02-2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irishango
Hi all,

first of all, beg your pardon for dummy questions. Please help me to sort it out.

I'm an internal consultant in a technology unit, and currently we are relocating some applications to another Data Center. In the old Data Center, applications are running on IBM AIX, mostly AIX 5.3. The IT team is saying that all these applications are virtualized.

We want to buy new servers in another Data Center for these applications. AIX 5.3 is already end of marketing, i.e. we cannot buy a new server with AIX 5.3. My IT department is saying that this means that we necessarily need to hire system integrators to migrate applications to AIX 6. That is quite expensive.

I don't quite understand their statement. I thought that if application is virtualized, you don't really care what is the version of the host OS. I.e. we can buy a new server with AIX 6.0 for the new Data Center and still run AIX 5.3 on it as a guest OS, without migrating the application.

Please let me know where the truth is. Many thanks!
IBM / AIX virtualisation means more than you are assuming. In the true virtualised environment a system will have a pair (or quad) Virtual I/O servers (VIO server). This effectively virtualises the network, SCSI (Fibre NPIV), and HDD.

The VIO servers are themselves LPARs on a P series frame but not of a normal type. Once the VIO servers have been created further LPARs can be created on the frame using the virtual I/O devices provided by the VIO server. This includes VIO provided paths to external disks or virtualised logical volumes on the VIO disk subsystem to provide Hard Disk Drives for LPAR use (rootvg etc).