Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Separating list of input files (*.file) with a comma in bash script Post 302526411 by TuAd on Tuesday 31st of May 2011 12:25:27 PM
Old 05-31-2011
Many thanks for your reply!

Can it be that a (`) is missing? When I run the command I get an error message (below). Sorry, I'm new to bashSmilie

Code:
#!/bin/bash

for i in *.fastq; my_variable=`echo $my_variable$i; done

./bowtie index_file $my_variable outfile.sam

Error:
./test2.sh: line 3: unexpected EOF while looking for matching ``'
./test2.sh: line 15: syntax error: unexpected end of file

Many thanks again!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Simple script for separating files

Hi all, I was wondering if someone could help me writing a simple script on separating files into separate folders. I have 92 files called various things and I want to separate these folders like so: Create a folder called "1" and put files 1-23 in it Create a folder called "2" and put... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: hertingm
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

separating comma delimited words

Hi, I have file with text ________________________________ GROUP:firstname1.lastname1,first_name2.last_name2,first_name3.last_name3 HEAD:firstname.lastname ________________________________ I need help to pick the names separately ie.. Need out put as var1 =firstname1.lastname1... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: rider29
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Separating delimited file by pattern with exclusion list

I have a file with the contents below jan_t=jan;feb_t=feb;mar_t=mar;year=2010 jan_t=null;feb_t=feb;mar_t=mar;year=2010 jan_t=jan;feb_t=feb;mar_t=mar;year=2010 I want to extract out all the fields values ending with "_t" , however, i want to exclude feb_t and mar_t from the results In... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: alienated
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting