Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Switching lines
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Switching lines Post 302526076 by hernand on Monday 30th of May 2011 08:53:17 AM
Old 05-30-2011
Switching lines

Hi
I'm quite new with linux.
Very simple, I need to swap every 2 lines in a file.
Example

INPUT:
Code:
a a a 
b b b
x x x 
y y y 
s s s
t t t

OUTPUT:
Code:
b b b
a a a
y y y 
x x x 
t t t
s s s

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

switching directories in C

Can somebody please explain to me how I can change the current directory using C (if possible). I know i can get the current directory path using getcwd(), but how can I change the directory? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: owijust
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

su (switching to other user)

Hi, what is the use of the double quotes and !! in the following code segment: su - user1 << ""!! > /dev/null 2>&1 echo "welcome user1" EOF !! also what is the difference between below: su - user1 << ""!! > /dev/null 2>&1 and su - $USER << ""!!!> /dev/null 2>&1. Note: $USER =... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: bjagadeesh
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Switching user

I need to do a switch user in an automated mode and do a ftp using that switched id. Scenario: initial login xx. switch to user-yy without manually entering the password. ftp some files from user yy to another user zz - automated mode. Can any unix experts can help me for my above query? (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: mjdarm
9 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

switching users

Hi I want to write a script which can switch between super users.But it asks for the password at the prompt.How can I manage in the script so that it didnt ask me for the password at the prompt. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: monika
1 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Swapping or switching 2 lines using sed